wanderlust.

I’m back from my 5D4N trip to Hong Kong. There were disappointments and regrets but I’m glad I managed to count my blessings throughout this dramatic trip with my best friend 🙂

Day 1, we reached the hotel early and left our luggages at the concierge before going to Causeway Bay to explore. It’s quite a distance away from our hotel so travelling took some time. Alighted at the wrong station cos we were too busy talking. Had a difficult time walking from the MTR station to Hello Kitty Secret Garden Cafe and got lost.

Day 2, we went to ocean park in the noon. I personally feel that it’s a waste of money going there if you dont like roller coasters. Didnt manage to seat the upside down ones and a few other rides. But yeah its not too bad going there for the experience. There’s an express train and cable cars inside the attraction. we settled dinner at Neptune restaurant which gave us a splendid view of the marine life. It’s so therapeutic to look at the fish, stingray and shark swimming while you eat. However, it’s pricey so be prepared to spend about $100 and above for 2 pax. we were out for the whole day and reached back the hotel only to find out that my best friend’s luggage was locked. she couldn’t open it up and suspected that the hotel staff meddled with her lock. this is really appalling because we stayed at a 4-star hotel (Metropark Kowloon Hotel) and expected to have better security. Anyway, the manager came into our room at about 1am in the morning with two other guys to help break open the lock.

Day 3, we went to Macau to explore. unfortunately, we left the hotel at a pretty late timing for brunch so we didnt get to explore the places much. by the time we reached Macau it was already 1pm. had a late lunch and the weather was so cold we went shopping for clothes at Venetian Hotel instead. ended our trip with a gondola ride. so we didnt get to explore the ruins of st paul’s, senado square, fisherman’s wharf as it was already 8+ by the time we headed back to Hong Kong.

Day 4, we went shopping at Mongkong area. omgosh totally didnt have time to travel to The Peak via the peak tram, Sky Terrace and Madame Tussauds museum cos lots of time was spent on shopping. Its a waste of time going to ladies market to bargain when Argyle Centre has more affordable stuffs!

Day 5, we didnt sleep the entire night of day 4. packed our luggages and rushed to the airport after checking out at 5+ in the morning. on the way to the airport, I realised my local sim card wasn’t with me. which meant that if I’m back in SG I would have to get a replacement. was so upset at myself for not checking properly before leaving the hotel. when we reached the airport, we nearly couldnt board our flights due to the restrictions for hand carry luggages and were forced to leave behind some of the mango pudding we bought for people. 😦 scrambled to the boarding gate before the flight took off. such a relief… felt so tired I slept for 95% of the journey. and conked out for 9hrs the moment I reached home. The very next day when I was unpacking my luggage, I found my sim card hidden in the zip compartment. Thank God for giving me the wisdom when I was in panic mode.

Travelling is an expensive hobby but I’d love to unleash more of the wanderlust in me. it’s a good way to bond with your friends, it may also be a bad way to lose your friends after the trip when you realise there’s so much difference between both of you. Ultimately, there has to be a compromise and sacrifices made to make sure that the trip is pleasant for all. (:

Leave a Reply

