Retrospective entry

Ran out of ideas for my blog post title. Doesnt matter anyway when I’m updating this blog space right?

Week 3 since I’ve started work and I’ve been feeling emotionally drained of late. Last week, I received bad news from 3 of my friends. A myriad of emotions like sadness, helplessness, worry and fear was constantly stuck on my mind whenever I wasn’t busy at work. I couldn’t talk to many people about it because it felt hard for me to externalise my thoughts. I felt there was nothing much I could do apart to offer consoling or comforting words to my friends and just keep them in my prayers…I don’t wish for this entry to be full of negativity so drop me a private message if you’d like to know what those bad news was.

Work has been pretty alright so far. My honeymoon period is nearly over soon. I’ve started to take up cases with less supervision, made several Medifund applications/renewal. I think I’ve been really blessed to have a supervisor who believes in me, trusts me and encourages me to take that step of faith though I have self-doubts about my own capabilities. I think it requires more practice and exposure. I was initially afraid to talk to the patient’s family and would often feel nervous and anxious before that. Hopefully it gets better after some time (: *think positively*

My heart breaks each time I visit the neonatal ICU/high dependency wards. I find it hard to hold back my tears sometimes but I know I’ve to be emotionally stronger otherwise it would affect the amount of help and support I can really provide to people who need me. Social work can be an emotionally draining job. Self-care is really important to keep the passion going.

Catch ya next time! Have a good weekend ahead!

Leave a Reply

